Tuesday, December 29, 2015

InnovAsian Chicken & Broccoli

Wow! As you may know, the quest for nut-free Chinese food is among my most difficult and desired. So whenever I go to a new grocery store, I check to see if there is anything which might fulfill this craving. Enter Wal-Mart, and enter this delicious meal which is also so easy to prepare. You microwave the chicken and broccoli and pour some sauce over it. I thought "this is probably going to be gross" and then when I smelled the sauce, which was gingery and sweet, I thought "oh no...". But I was wrong! I was very wrong! This is filling and delicious and actually tastes pretty similar to (not great) takeout Chinese!! It IS a little bit sweet and spicy, kind of like General Tso's, and the chicken is breaded, but it's really good tasting chicken and the sauce is really nice. The broccoli is fine; nothing to rave about, but the chicken is really good. I only used about half of the sauce and this seemed to be the right amount. Glory hallelujah!

Overall
Cost: 4/10 (I don't remember but I think it was about 7$ -- not so great for 1 nice meal)
Taste: 9/10 !

Friday, November 6, 2015

Listerine Pocketpaks - Cool Mint

I got to sample a pa(c)k of these thanks to CrowdTap, which is great because I always wanted to try them out. Obviously, there are no nuts or nut products in such a product. What IS there is a thin strip of germ-killing mintiness. At least in this flavor, the mint flavor is really really strong, but not unpleasantly so. I think that it is a peppermint flavor here. I'm interested in the other flavors for curiousity's sake, but this is probably my favorite, since it feels refreshing and not like a sweet treat, which is presumably bad for the teeth.

Anyway, the package is tiny tiny (maybe 2x1 inches) and that's awesomely convenient. The little strips pack plenty of refreshment, so it's the perfect size in my opinion. It also seems fairly long lasting - I ate ("ate"?) one about an hour ago, and I still feel a little vestige of freshness. Overall I think these are a great idea and adorable and functional, and they might replace my car mints if I can find them in-store! :o

Overall
Cost: 5/10
Taste: 7/10

Friday, September 18, 2015

Johnsonville Fully Cooked Breakfast Sausage (Original Recipe)

So, I got to sample these brekkie sausages free from CrowdTap, which is pretty great because I'm poor. But I was a little anxious because a lot (a lot!) of precooked sausages make me feel itchy and have swollen lips, I guess because I'm allergic to some sort of soy they put in there. However, I had absolutely no bad reaction to these! No lie! They taste really similar to other sausage, but I wasn't itchy at all. Just for that fact alone I was really happy.

Other good facts: These are precooked and only take 30 seconds (or 50 if you eat 6 at once, as I did) to cook in the microwave, and they come out perfectly heated, which is pretty amazing. So convenient. The taste is good, pretty much all you could want out of a breakfast sausage. And the package is resealable! I am being honest when I say I don't know how you could improve on this product. Nice work, Johnsonville! :D

Overall
Cost: 7/10
Taste: 8/10

Thursday, August 27, 2015

BIC Soleil Glow Razors




OK, I know, this isn't a food, but I just got a free pack of these razors from BIC & BzzAgent in exchange for an honest review. And you know I love to give an honest review! :) And it is worth noting that even though these razors come with a gel strip for smooth shaving, there's no nut oils or butters in it. Safety first!

Alright, so at the age of 26 I'm pretty set in my shaving ways. Same razor, same shaving cream - why mess with perfection? But given the opportunity to try out a new razor (BIC Soleil Glow, keep up!) I realised there was room for improvement in my current razor situation. The main benefit, as ridiculous as it might sound, is that the caps on these razors slide on from the side, and they aren't super easy to take off. Therefore the cap always stays on! No more "Where's the cap? Oh well, I'll just let it rust" or "Where's the cap? Oh, I stepped on it and cut my foot, ha ha" situations. Really good stuff. Otherwise, these look like your typical lady razor: pretty colors (pink, blue, purple), curvy handle, 3 blades, easy to hold. I applied my typical shaving gel (Gillette, if you're curious) and shaved it up. The razor feels really, really smooth. Disconcertingly so, almost, like I wasn't getting the hair at all. It was effective though, and I got into the smooth feeling after a while. Kind of like rubbing a dinner plate over my body but somehow there were secret blades in there. So that was cool.

The razor lasts a while, or at least as long as any other disposable razor. However, I did get more razor burn than usual after I used this, so maybe that's the tradeoff - smooth, close shave, bound to come with a little irritation. If you get a good deal on these, I recommend trying them out, although I'll need a few more weeks to decide if I want to make the switch permentantly myself. I'll keep ya posted!

Overall
Cost: 10/10 (thanks, BIC) but in general, 6/10
Shave: 8/10

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Australian Gold Lotion Sunscreen Broad Spectrum SPF 30

I know, this isn't a food, but it IS peanut-free! I got a sample of this sunscreen free from @Influenster, and boy, did it come just in time for the wild rays of summer. I didn't expect this, but it smells a little bit like a fruit overlay on regular sunscreen. It's a good smell, very summery. Plus the koala logo is freakin' adorbs.

Anyway, how does it actually work? It works well! It says it's basically waterproof, which seems to be true. I only reapplied once in an 8-hour day and I didn't get sunburnt at all, which is nothing short of a miracle. This is a great product and it's definitely gonna get used up in no time.


Overall
Cost: 7/10
Smell: 8/10

Sunday, March 22, 2015

Bahlsen Choco Leibniz Cookies (Milk)

Cookies? Biscuits? Who knows. These are German, or British, or something not American, but they are in my local Pathmark grocery store, so I decided to try them out. They do make almond and hazelnut products, but these specific cookies don't have an allergy warning for any nuts. Lucky for me, they are also pretty delicious. The base is a nice buttery wafer, and it is covered with good milk chocolate. Not the type which covers your Nestle + Nabisco cookies, and not even the Pepperidge Farm Milano chocolate. This is better, creamier. It's also a substantially thick layer. So, all in all, this tastes like a high-quality snack, and it's really good. A rare gem for nut allergy people! Check it out! :9

Overall
Cost: 7/10 (On sale for 2.50)
Taste: 9/10

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Ben & Jerry's Milk and Cookies Ice Cream

I thought I reviewed this already, but I didn't! Anyway, this sounds amazing, but it isn't amazing, it's just OK. It tastes a lot like cookies and cream ice cream, which was never my favorite. However, if you like that, then you will like this. The cookies are mainly oreo-type cookies, and there is very little dough. I love that dough! What I need is like, DOUBLE-BLASTED COOKIE DOUGH or something. But I digress. This is cookies and cream with a few more fudge cookie stripes, which is nice, and a few cookie dough stripes, which I love, but it mostly tastes like cookies and cream. Drunken aside: does B+Js even make a mint choc chip flavor? That's my favorite, but I feel like they don't! Hmm.

Anyway,

Overall
Cost: 6/10
Taste: 6/10

Ben & Jerry's Spectacular Speculoos Cookie Core Ice Cream

I always get excited about new Ben and Jerry's flavors, and they finally showed up in my store today! I chose this one because I like caramel ice cream. The thing about B+J's is, the mix-ins really make or break the flavor. And I guess I didn't know what "Speculoos" was, so I made a small mistake here. Apparently it's a cinnamon graham crackery flavor of cookie. So, this has tasty vanilla and somehow less tasty caramel ice creams with these balls of cinnamon cookie and then a mass of milder cookie butter in the middle. If only it were like sugar cookie dough instead, it would be so good! But I didn't really love this flavor, because the cinnamon flavor just tasted like a subpar snack. And, to make matters worse, even though there was no allergy statement, the fact that they make a peanut butter version and the fact that the cookie butter LOOKS like peanut butter (to an allergy-haver's eye, anyway), I just felt too itchy to enjoy it. So, I have higher hopes for the chocolate cookie flavor! That said, if you LIKE speculoos(?) then I bet you'd like this - it has a lot of "bits" and a good mix of soft and crunchy and chewy. Good texture times.

Overall
Cost: 4/10 (like 5.50, not on sale ;P)
Taste: 6/10

Thursday, January 22, 2015

Dean's Sweets - Truffles (Assorted)

[picture coming soon]

So, I heard about this nut-free choco operation (running out of Portland, ME) after my disappointing experience with those tofu-filled chocos. I picked a variety of flavors, and got a variety of tastes! Overall it seems like a good quality place (though pricey, of course).

Milk Chocolate Truffle: Great. Basically what you'd want, what you'd expect. Milky, firm outside, and smooth creamy inside. 8/10.

Blueberry Truffle: Sounded interesting, but this wasn't for me. Dark choco exterior, with a very ... tangy? bitter? blueberry inside. Reminds me of the blueberry Seth Ellis truffle, which is good quality but also wasn't for me. I think these bitter fruit flavor truffles are just not my bag, but it seemed to be along the lines of a standard blueberry truffle, so if you like them then you'd like this. For me, 4/10.

Salted Caramel: I think it's my favorite, possibly just because I really like caramel. It's quite good. A lot of salt flavor, and a thick caramel which is very sweet. Dense stuff! 8/10

Brandy: This one was just average. It wasn't too bitter like the blueberry, but it wasn't amazingly smooth either. If you really like brandy, maybe it is a good choice. I enjoyed it, but wouldn't get it again since there are much better flavors. Actually, the more I eat them, the more I like it, so I might need to rethink this. It's pretty good. 7/10

Brandied Orange Bar: The choco bars were all good (though small!!). This one tastes just like a chocolate orange.

Mocha Latte Bar: Very coffee-y! Pretty, too.

Maine Chip Bar: Could have used more chips, actually, but this was sweet and smooth and salty; probably my favorite bar so far.

Overall
Cost: 3/10 (the shipping is the kicker)
Taste: 7/10